”Crash course” in the basics of Buddhism

Buddhism can be approached as religion, philosophy or even as  psychology

(”the science of the mind”, as Dalai Lama defines it).

But the simplest definition that I can personally give at this moment  is:

buddhism is a practical and clear method of liberation

and self-improvement.

Practical Buddhism is above all else the direct application of two things

in your life, every day:  mindfulness and compassion.
Be good to yourself and to all living beings and avoid being a jerk.

You can basically and formally become a buddhist by ”taking refuge”

in the 3 Jewels  – Buddha, Dharma  and Sangha  –

aknowledging them and asking for their support in your practice.

Taking refuge  in  the Buddha  means  formally accepting and  declaring there is

a greater/better state of mind that a human being can actually work towards.

Taking refuge in the Dharma means  accepting the teachings, the path,

the method and accepting  the notion that the practical application of meditation,

non-attachment, and compassion can lead to a greater state.

 Taking refuge in the Sangha means you accept and identify yourself

  (to some degree) with the large community of actual buddhist practitioners

and you acknowledge  that the collective wisdom of this community

may have a direct, and useful/productive impact on your practice.

The Four Noble Truths

1.    Your life is dominated by a sense of dissatisfaction and by suffering

(physical, but mostly psychological) = life sucks.

2.    Your life sucks  because you  continuously want something

and because of your attachment and clinging to the objects of your perception

(people, things, ideas).

3.   You – and everyone –  can make life not suck.

4.    In order to do that,you need start walking the Middle Path.

The first talks about suffering (identifying the ilness),

the second why suffering exists (diagnosis),

the third proclaims that all beings can be liberated form suffering

(stating  the possibility of  defeating the ilness),

and the fourth lines how (prescribing the treatment).

The basic ethical guidelines of Buddhists are The  Five Precepts

1. Don’t kill and don’t intentionally bring physical harm to any living being

2. Don’t take what is not freely given

3. No sexual misconduct (adultery, rape)

4. Don’t lie and don’t  harm anybody with your words

5. Don’t take intoxicating substances (alcohol, drugs, tobacco).

The Noble Eightfold Path

1. Right View:  Realist perspective. See things exactly as they are.

2. Right Intention:  Commit to ethical and mental improvement.

Commit to resisting desire and negative feelings, thoughts and actions.

3. Right Speech:  Don’t say bad, hurtful or misleading things.

Don’t idle chat, talk only when necessary.

4. Right Action: Do good things; respect the five percepts.

5. Right Livelihood: stay away from immoral vocations (slaughterhouse,

selling weapons, drugs, alcohol etc.) and harmful activities.

6. Right Effort:  Work on yourself, everyday.

7. Right Mindfulness:  be aware and thoughtful in the NOW,

specifically for the sake of truth and dispelling of delusions.

8. Right Concentration: Meditate. A lot.

The constant applications of the three Jewels, the four noble truths,

the five precepts and the noble eight fold path will guide you

on a life of balanced, harmonius and noble living.


~ by pinoro on September 27, 2013.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: